Rise to Pro: One Snapshot at a time

Probably my favourite photo of all time me in the star shirt and my sister pulling my fathers hair out..

Probably my favourite photo of all time me in the star shirt and my sister pulling my fathers hair out..

Elephant .

Elephant .

My dad in the back with the sausage haha,  in front of him is my sister then me hugging my brother..

My dad in the back with the sausage haha, in front of him is my sister then me hugging my brother..

See the pink house beds in the background!? my father built those.

See the pink house beds in the background!? my father built those.

Yes I am the one in the striped overalls and striped shirt.. ..lord.

Yes I am the one in the striped overalls and striped shirt.. ..lord.

me in the back of baby carriage

me in the back of baby carriage

Not much to report on this week seeing that a photo shot was rescheduled for next week and I’ve be so busy getting ready to move ..etc So I decided to just write a bit on how I was first interested in photography.

It all started back when I was growing up in Moncton New Brunswick, When I was young before our Mother became…overwhelmed with her mental heath problem our parents would bring us everywhere a kid would want to go, you know like the zoo, amusement park (manly a amusement park Named “Crystal palace”) and whenever we would go somewhere or even just be at home they would have their Camera, “They had one of those old Polaroid instant print camera’s (which I would still love to have for my collection but anyways…)” Yeah they took a lot of picture’s of us as kids we were rarely aloud to hold the camera but I remember always wanting to…seeing that Camera everyday I think greatly contributed to my love of photography even though I was not aloud to use it of course my sister and I would sometimes sneak it away and play with it!. also There was a Class project in grade 5 or 6 where we studied artiest and that solidified my desire , my passion for the art of Photography I actually got my very own first camera after that project, my father bought both my sister and I little picture/video camera’s and I have been hooked ever since!. The quality of the photo’s and Camera’s have grown along with me the first I would stay good camera I acquired was when i went and visited my brother whom still lives in Moncton NB He surprised me with a small Canon digital camera nothing to great but decent enough to take better photo’s with. And During my intense Crohn’s flare all i did was look up photographers and watch documentaries on photograph manly street photography and that is one of the things that helped me get through what was going on with my body but thats a hole nother story which I will not get into right now….

That little Canon digital camera died a tragic death one late season fall day during a incident where I saw I really beautiful bird (some kind of big blue stork) the problem was the stork was on a little island in the middle of a river…so to get a good shoot of set stork I had to across set river which did not look to deep “under knee deep for sure” and didn’t look to be moving to fast either…in the middle of crossing the river I remembered that I have very little balance as it is I realized this as I was falling in the very cold not as shallow as it was in the beginning of crossing either so yes I drown the camera and it has not turn on every since. (by the way I have seen the stork since but can not get close enough to it to get the shot i want !!!!!) but anyways after I killed that camera I decided to upgrade to the one I have now the Nikon D3100 and it makes me very happy so yes that is pretty much how I got into photography! , I will doing another “Rise to Pro: One Snapshot at a time” entery as soon as I do my next shot. So Bye for now!! 🙂

About MerandaRoben

I am a Freelance Photographer... You can contact me by sending me a message on facebook or by email at meranda-roben@live.ca Or call the number on the business card. The best ways to contact me is by calling the number on the business card or sending me a message on facebook. I enjoying doing all kinds of photography but i would have to say street photography is my favourite. I like to photograph events and work in event and family portrait photography, if you would like me to photograph your event or do some family portraits just send me a message or give me a call . I also enjoy writing and i'm going to be working more on my journalism skills. I want to become either a photographic journalist or a documentary photographers. Feel free to check out all my photos and give me feed back. I have been living with Crohn's disease since my diagnosis in April 2012. Through my work I want to be able to bring light to Crohn’s disease and show other’s that it is very possible to live a full happy healthy successful life even with the ups and down’s of this life long disease. I plan to start writing a Monthly blog on my rise to become a professional photographer it will be in titled “Rise to Pro: One Snapshot at a time” That will hopefully begin July 22 2013. By Now most if not all of you are aware that I have a form of IBD. I have one of the two most common forms of IBD, Crohn’s disease. I have recently decided to become an IBD activist in the form of a writing blog and I guess a “in person educator” if you would. I will be discussing everything that goes into my IBD life with this blog and when I say everything I mean EVERYTHING, All the detail of which some would be to embarrassed/scared to discuss in a public form I will write about in hopes that through this I will inspire others With IBD to be more open with them selves and be confident in who they are. It is entitled “My IBD Life.
This entry was posted in documentary, evolution, nature, photography, Reflection, script, support and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

