My IBD Life

DSC_0470Medications

There is a false belief going around about IBD “Crohn’s and Colitis” which is that it can be “cured” by diet. This couldn’t be farther from the truth. Yes you should at times be careful with what you eat like during Flare ups … But I mean shouldn’t everybody? If you as an individual person react badly to a center food then obviously you should avoid that food.
You should also eat in a healthy manner because with any immune disorder you are low in essential vitamins and minerals so you would therefor want to enrich your diet with set essential vitamins and minerals, however you will not control your IBD with diet alone. It is almost an insult, to me at least, when someone says , “Hey well why don’t you just change-up your diet?”. It makes us seem lazy in a way, doesn’t it? … if that was all it took to cure us don’t you think we would? if that were the case millions of people would not be suffering from these debilitating disease’s.
There is No known cure for IBD However there are methods to controlling symptom such as Medication! I Have not been on to many different medications yet but in this entry I will discuss The Medications/the vitamins  I have taken, the effects they had on my body good and bad and my personal thoughts on set Medications.
I will List the Med’s I was on then start from the beginning and go down the line…
Medications
>prednisone Oral
>Lansoprazole also known as “Prevacid”
>Mercaptopurine also known as “Purinethol”
-Vitamins
>Iron
>Vitamin B12
>Folic acid
>Calcium
>Multi-Vitamin including vitamin D, Vitamin A , Vitamin E..etc
When I was first diagnosed I was put on 40mg of prednisone which was eight 5mg pills once a day. Prednisolone is a steroid and It has many side effect which tend to be different for most patients. I personally had the following side effects: >Headache,
>Fever or chills
>Hair loss
>Shortness of breath
>Stomach pain
…etc.
One of the things I had a hard time dealing with was the hair loss … The doctor I had at the time said nothing of hair loss therefore I was not expecting it , If I would have known ahead of time possibly I would have had a better reaction.
That was hard for me, I vividly remember being in the shower looking down seeing all the hair then having a break down. you see I had little to no reaction to being diagnosed with Crohn’s Disease. Before and after the diagnosis I was in a fog for a good while , I was very sick and was just trying to act well,  ignore everything and move forward with out dealing with the reality of have a chronic illness/the reality of how sick I really was . The hair loss “of all things” was when it really hit me … but we’ll save that for another time.
Even with all those side effect I feel prednisone worked great for me, I believe three days after taking it I felt better , It brought down a good portion of my inflammation with that my erythema nodosum (big red lumps on my legs) went away and I felt so much better. I No longer take prednisone.
You never should abruptly stop taking prednisone, it is dangerous to your health therefore I had to slowly ween off of it by taking 1 less pill weekly so it went from taking 8 pills per day to taking 7 pill a day for two weeks then it was 6 pills a day for one week then 5 pills a day the next week ..etc till it had non left!
I was also on Lansoprazole also known as “Prevacid” at the same as prednisone . I took two 30mg  capsules a day, one in the morning and one around super.  Prevacid is used to decreases the amount of acid  in your stomach, therefor decreasing pain  “which is always good! “. Prevacid for me had no stand out side effects that I really noticed. It worked very well for me, it did decrease my stomach acid which therefore less heartburn!  😀 I am also no longer on Prevacid.
During my withdrawal  from prednisone I began taking two 50mg tablets of Mercaptopurine also known as “Purinethol”.  Purinethol is a immunesupportive drug/ some sort of anti-inflammatory. Some of the side effects I get from Purinethol are
>Nausea,
>Vomiting,
>Diarrhea ,
>Loss of appetite
>and my favorite … Hair loss!
I don’t really get many of these side effect often anymore, I am still on Purinethol  but my dosage has been lowered to 1 and a half tablets a day.  Purinethol is currently the only drug I take including vitamins  ( I would be taking vitamins  but I can not afford them so there that problem..) anyways I feel Purinethol is working great for me “well at least it was .,. I am going into a flare right now so well see what my doctor says”.
While on any of the drug I listed It is very important to get your blood work done … when told , Your doctor gets quit annoyed when you “forget”, rightful so , these drug are dangerous to you health and some things can only be seen through blood test’s. I was getting Blood work done once a week for two months then it went down to once every two weeks, then once a month…etc … I now only get blood work done every three months.
Actually before   I was diagnosed with Crohn’s I was offhandedly diagnosed with Anaemia, which means I was told by I Doctor that I had it but nothing was done to correct it … (Thumb to the after hours clinics up! .. oh I have a great store about the same after hours clinic  maybe I’ll write that out next time.) “Anaemia: a condition in which there is a deficiency of red cells or of haemoglobin in the blood” so finally when I was diagnosed with IBD  I was prescribed multiple vitamins listed above. All the vitamins helped me greatly they gave me energy and just helped me feel overall better.
I did have side effects from Iron like Nausea  , stomach pain but it was worth taking.  As we all should be aware Iron should be taken with Calcium in order for it to be absorbed properly in to the body. The only problem I had with Calcium was the tablets themselves you see I had a hard time eating anything because every time I put something into my mouth I would get a rotten egg taste and a strange erg to spit it out, so having to chew up the large chalky tablets three times a day was quit the challenge! But they did make me feel better so I forced myself through it. 
Folic acid! Folic acid is awesome I love Folic acid 🙂 , it gave me  energy and made my skin and HAIR look much healthilyer. I had no sand out side effects from Folic acid.
Once my prescriptions ran out for Calcium/Iron/folic acid I was told i no longer really needed them and was just giving  prescription for a Multi-Vitamin, Now I did have problems with Multi-Vitamin’s I for some reason just can not handle them I get a lot of Nausea and frankly they make me feel weird…it’s odd, I think maybe its just to much at once, so i just stopped taking them and during the move the bottle was lost and i never renewed it , to top it off  you see Vitamin’s are not covered by Medicare ( I believe Calcium or Iron was covered not to sure which one but one was… O_o ) and I just can not afford them, they are not too expensive but for me its just not in the budget!  At the moment I do not take any Vitamin’s what so ever.  I do feel like I am low in something, I can feel it , I believe its Iron.  I now only get Blood work done once every 3 months so I have to wait till December to go again when I see my Doctor…so we shall see!.

I think the Medications work great for me, i am aware that  long term use of these drugs can cause major health problems however if No Medication is taken with IBD then you will experience  even worse health problems. To me it is worth the risk.
Thanks so much for Reading! 

I will stay strong

I will stay strong

About MerandaRoben

I am a Freelance Photographer... You can contact me by sending me a message on facebook or by email at meranda-roben@live.ca Or call the number on the business card. The best ways to contact me is by calling the number on the business card or sending me a message on facebook. I enjoying doing all kinds of photography but i would have to say street photography is my favourite. I like to photograph events and work in event and family portrait photography, if you would like me to photograph your event or do some family portraits just send me a message or give me a call . I also enjoy writing and i'm going to be working more on my journalism skills. I want to become either a photographic journalist or a documentary photographers. Feel free to check out all my photos and give me feed back. I have been living with Crohn's disease since my diagnosis in April 2012. Through my work I want to be able to bring light to Crohn’s disease and show other’s that it is very possible to live a full happy healthy successful life even with the ups and down’s of this life long disease. I plan to start writing a Monthly blog on my rise to become a professional photographer it will be in titled “Rise to Pro: One Snapshot at a time” That will hopefully begin July 22 2013. By Now most if not all of you are aware that I have a form of IBD. I have one of the two most common forms of IBD, Crohn’s disease. I have recently decided to become an IBD activist in the form of a writing blog and I guess a “in person educator” if you would. I will be discussing everything that goes into my IBD life with this blog and when I say everything I mean EVERYTHING, All the detail of which some would be to embarrassed/scared to discuss in a public form I will write about in hopes that through this I will inspire others With IBD to be more open with them selves and be confident in who they are. It is entitled “My IBD Life.
This entry was posted in documentary, help, IBD, photography, Reflection, script, support, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

