My IBD Life

cropped-mm.jpg
A simple equation.

Hi Bloggers! A lot has happened since my last entry good and bad, lets get stated.

Schooling + Finding a new apartment  Money a “Bad” roommates Full medical coverage X Flare up = Stress/Anxiety!
Yes, I wont go into to much detail on the “house” front in this entry but don’t worry you”ll read about that soon!
Okay so after my last enter i found out that my roommate decided to move away, well not away…upstairs…I know thats confusing..come let my elaborate.
I am no I was! renting a unfinished basement “apartment” alone at first (if you are a regular reading you will be aware of some of this already) Then i decided to get a roommate to help me out with the bills, I had a few people interested but decided on a friend from high school. We lived together for about three months then she had a accident forcing her to take a bedroom upstairs which was only suppose to be until she was able to come back down but while she was up there “I guess” she was offered to instead off moving back down here with me to rent a bedroom upstairs for more money (…).  I know that was vague but like I said before I am not going  to go into much detail on the “house” front right now but it will come, all the details!
My x-roommate moving left me in a predicament you see as I mentioned in previous entries I do not have full medical coverage anymore which means now I have to pay quite a bit a month for my medication, which is Purinethol or 6Mp if you prefer. Also The apartment I was renting to me just was or is not worth the amount of money I was paying (I mean in all honesty how much would you pay to rent a unfinished basement with no oven…) therefore I starting house/roommate hunting, I walked around my town for days looking for “à louer’ signs I found a few, looked into them but It wasn’t until my dad came and drove me around that we found just what i was looking for a nice 4 1/2 apartment 2 min a walk from my school right in front of store of all kinds , we called he number met with the a very nice gentlemen whom is now my landlord, I signed the lease a few days later and am now a happy first time leaser! 🙂 During the house hunting I was also looking for relabel roommates, I found a few good ones, one had to back out do to family issues but I found a great mature relabel one whom is now all moved into the new place. I my self am actually only moving in tomorrow morning. (when you have 0$ it is quite difficult to find someone to move your things from point A to point B).
Schooling right now is fun yet stress full at the same time I am in a Interior Dec and Visual display course, we have lots of exams it seems like we have one once a week, with this fatigue and IBD pains it is hard to focus.
Now your wondering what all this has to do with IBD? Well you see active IBD effects everything in your life, it makes everyday life just that much harder. Just the same Life effects IBD,  life’s stresses take a toll on health making it harder to come out of a flare. When you feel like shit on the inside it is hard to project  the feeling of good on the out side, if your like me you try to keep the feeling of “bad” on the inside so therefore you may just be able to portray the feeling of good to others maybe making you feel overall better. IBDer if you just acted the way you felt one the inside all the time wouldn’t you just be miserable!?
During a flare you want to avoid stressful situation such as lets say your roommate bailing on you or having to rash to find a new place to live or maybe not having money to pay for your medication things of that nature are best avoided during a flare up however life doesn’t give two shits about your flare up so be ready things in life enjoy to take the domino effect once one thing goes down everything else tends to follow suit,  but let us remember dominoes don’t always fall like there suppose to , It just takes one off set domino to stop the flow,  if you see the good in the bad you will find your off set , for example my off set was finding my new a apartment it is everything I need, it’s 1000 times better then my last place, it’s near everything I need, I can get  my blood work done now with ease and it is a very nice looking place (much better then bright green tile flooring if i do say so my self) To top it off I learned a good life lesson or two, want to know what one is…okay i’ll tell you…ready?… Don’t trust that feeling of comfort, not all is what it seems. That saying can work for IBDers also, people will look at one with IBD and think “oh that person doesn’t look sick they must be fine” but in reality that is not the case.
Right now my IBD stands at a place of unknown I know there is something not right, once i am all moved in I think i should call my GI….I will call my GI, I have to stop being stupid about my health my GI at my last appointment said to call him in two weeks  if my symptom did not improve….that was on the 1st of November… and not only have they not improved they have worsened but I have had no time to call  let alone set up a colonoscopy, the prep for those damn things are like 2 or 3 days! anyway I’ll list my symptoms again for you
>Fever or chills
>Shortness of breath
>Stomach pain
>Nausea (greatly after eating)
>Vomiting (very acidy, manly in the morning)
>Odd colored stool and tongue 
>Loss of appetite
>Unstructured stool
>Abdominal pain (intense at time)
>Sharpe pain under rips (now both sides)
Also I  can’t eat things that are high in iron like beef or even broccoli which i love ..they make me feel very Nausea and I get the feeling to spit it out as soon as i put it in my mouth, Does anyone else get that?
Okay I would love to vent more but for now I must get beck to packing!
Thats what going on in My IBD life for now I say good day all!

Side note, I am moving tomorrow and will not have internet at least until next Monday so If you post a comment I’m not ignoring it, I will get back to you ASAP! I love reading your comments. 🙂

Thanks so much for reading!

Follow me on Twitter for updates,
Twitter: @MerandaRoben

About MerandaRoben

I am a Freelance Photographer... You can contact me by sending me a message on facebook or by email at meranda-roben@live.ca Or call the number on the business card. The best ways to contact me is by calling the number on the business card or sending me a message on facebook. I enjoying doing all kinds of photography but i would have to say street photography is my favourite. I like to photograph events and work in event and family portrait photography, if you would like me to photograph your event or do some family portraits just send me a message or give me a call . I also enjoy writing and i'm going to be working more on my journalism skills. I want to become either a photographic journalist or a documentary photographers. Feel free to check out all my photos and give me feed back. I have been living with Crohn's disease since my diagnosis in April 2012. Through my work I want to be able to bring light to Crohn’s disease and show other’s that it is very possible to live a full happy healthy successful life even with the ups and down’s of this life long disease. I plan to start writing a Monthly blog on my rise to become a professional photographer it will be in titled “Rise to Pro: One Snapshot at a time” That will hopefully begin July 22 2013. By Now most if not all of you are aware that I have a form of IBD. I have one of the two most common forms of IBD, Crohn’s disease. I have recently decided to become an IBD activist in the form of a writing blog and I guess a “in person educator” if you would. I will be discussing everything that goes into my IBD life with this blog and when I say everything I mean EVERYTHING, All the detail of which some would be to embarrassed/scared to discuss in a public form I will write about in hopes that through this I will inspire others With IBD to be more open with them selves and be confident in who they are. It is entitled “My IBD Life.
This entry was posted in documentary, IBD and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My IBD Life

  1. Pingback: My IBD Life | Photography By: Meranda Roben O'Hara

  2. terrepruitt says:

    YAY! I love when something that appears totally awful ends up being a blessing in disguise. You never would have found your new place if your roommate wouldn’t have left you high and dry. I think by now you are probably all moved in. I have to check out your other posts to see . . . .

    Like

  3. MerandaRoben says:

    Thanks so much and yes i am going to do a update soon on my new place plus a entry entitled “My first apartment” so you’ll see 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

