My IBD Life

My IBD Life

Typical conversation:

I have had a few ridiculous comments about IBD, Today I’m going to share a typical conversation;

  • “Your not eating? why not?”
  • Because I can not eat at this time (11:30am)
  • (Side note that last thing is something i tend to repeat at least 3 times a week)
  • because I have Crohns Disease and have an eating schedule, based around my medication
  • “Oh well I have heard of Crohns Disease before and I Know that it is all about diet , you should really be eating more often”
  • Well I can’t eat at this time , I get nauseous and whatnot and just not hungry
  • You should go see a nutritionist and get a better diet plan. That way you wouldn’t have to take the medication
  • it’s not that simple , diet is only a portion of this disease, the medication is more important than you think.
  • Your just not trying had enough , i have heard of people curing this with diet..
  • (laughed a bit) Don’t you think if i could cure all this pain with diet i would have done so long ago?
  • Obviously not because you haven’t tried yet…I had digestive issues before and look now i don’t
  • (there comes a time in a conversation where you realize the person really has no idea nor the interested in listening to you. They are more interested in telling you about how great/mart and all-knowing they are, when that times come’s you need to just end the convo and move on before you become agitated with them.)
  • I’m glad you don’t have digestive issues anymore however this is more than that , anyways, have you looked outside check out that snow!…
  • “Oh ya snow , well do you know how to melt snow and make spring come faster ….I do , all you have to do is change your diet and bang its spring!”

I’m kidding about that last sentence but that’s how they come across.

Here is a note to you Know it all’s out there , when you think you know everything about someones else’s disease , yet in reality you have never really heard of it , lived it,or have never even  done research on it , then you really shouldn’t make comments like that, all you come off as is kind of ignorant.
” Ignorant Define: lacking knowledge or awareness in general; uneducated or unsophisticated”…exactly.

Do you get stupid comments about your Disease? share them in the comment bellow!

Twitter: @MerandaRoben
Quebec IBD support: QC IBD Support 

About MerandaRoben

I am a Freelance Photographer... You can contact me by sending me a message on facebook or by email at meranda-roben@live.ca Or call the number on the business card. The best ways to contact me is by calling the number on the business card or sending me a message on facebook. I enjoying doing all kinds of photography but i would have to say street photography is my favourite. I like to photograph events and work in event and family portrait photography, if you would like me to photograph your event or do some family portraits just send me a message or give me a call . I also enjoy writing and i'm going to be working more on my journalism skills. I want to become either a photographic journalist or a documentary photographers. Feel free to check out all my photos and give me feed back. I have been living with Crohn's disease since my diagnosis in April 2012. Through my work I want to be able to bring light to Crohn’s disease and show other’s that it is very possible to live a full happy healthy successful life even with the ups and down’s of this life long disease. I plan to start writing a Monthly blog on my rise to become a professional photographer it will be in titled “Rise to Pro: One Snapshot at a time” That will hopefully begin July 22 2013. By Now most if not all of you are aware that I have a form of IBD. I have one of the two most common forms of IBD, Crohn’s disease. I have recently decided to become an IBD activist in the form of a writing blog and I guess a “in person educator” if you would. I will be discussing everything that goes into my IBD life with this blog and when I say everything I mean EVERYTHING, All the detail of which some would be to embarrassed/scared to discuss in a public form I will write about in hopes that through this I will inspire others With IBD to be more open with them selves and be confident in who they are. It is entitled “My IBD Life.
Image | This entry was posted in IBD and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My IBD Life

  1. jrobinjrob says:

    No wonder your sick with that stuff you eat. Instead you should be eating veggies!

    Like

Leave a Reply

