Where to go from here?

Crossroads:

 IBD is a progressive Disease hens the word progressive, it‘s likely to progress meaning maybe I wont be as able to go to school full-time in the future or hold a job. The biggest fear I have in life is not being successful, I want to be able to look back on my life and know that i have accomplished want it is i feel i need to accomplish , I want to be able to feel as if i took advantage of my health and set up a good future for myself. I want to be able to land jobs that pay well enough that i can life a comfortable life and still be able to do what i love , i want to gain as much knowledge in the fields i am interested in therefore i can use them all to my full advantage so one day when  I am too sick to work I will at least be fully able to feel confident in the fact I worked and lived and contributed to society and know i did not waste my health doing nothing. 

Dirty stepsIn 6 months I will have completed my Interior Decorating&Visual Display course but … then what?
During the time in this course I have learned a lot probably more than i realize now, the main thing i have learned is..I don’t want to do this for a living, I don’t want to be an Interior Decorator I‘m not saying this to condescend myself in any way but honestly I’m not very good at it, it does not intrigue me enough. I have, however, learned of home staging this seems more “up my alley”. I have always been interested in real estate I like the fact that it is a respected job market and you can make a lot of money ,which is always a plus …

... But Photography has always been in my mind if you have been following this blog for a while you will know this and may wonder why I have not yet pursued education in photography well i’ll tell you why ,I would love to be a professional Photographer. However, I am a realist I know how difficult it is to find a stable paying job in photography, the chance of me coming out of school and getting along term job in the photography field is low that is why i am going to get an education in other more “manageable” fields first.
Once 
i have a stable income i fully plan on pursuing an education in photography.
This is where the crossroad comes along, do 
i go straight with the Interior Decorating&Visual Display and hope for a Home staging job? Or do I go right away into another educational course which would be real estate? Or do i do both, try to land a job in Home staging and go to school for real estate?
Another question is where do I live? Do I stay in Quebec where I will have a harder time with language or do I move to New Brunswick 
?
There are pros and cons  to both, I have always planned on moving back to NB it is just a matter of when.
. Should I wait, try my luck here? Or should I go?  should I stay here and hope my struggles in French don’t hold me back from landing a job? Or I should go and hope I can land a job with no connections? 

My latest plan is to move on to the island of Montreal, land a Home staging job or really any job.. Then there is a major question which i could really use advice for … should I go to Lasalle College for real estate basically right after i finish this course? Or should I just work and save money? Then move to NB land a new job take two different courses, real estate and photography.

On the other hand, i could be over planning everything , I could finish the course then make a decision but you see I like to plan and work through scenarios long before I really need to make a decision even though everything could change before I get their , I mean I could get really sick with Crohn’s and not be able to attend school , I could make all these plans and not be able to do any of them … these are the challenges of living with a chronic disease you never know what tomorrow will bring , but look you can’t worry about that all the time , you can’t plan your future in fear , you have to hope for the best but expect the worst, if you expect the best and the worst hits you will be more disappointing and unprepared and no one wants that.

Looks I have a few decisions to make , hopefully the one I pick is the right one!

Click here to Join the awareness video! help break stereo types by showing all the faces of IBD!

If you have further questions feel free to comment here or you may pm on twitter , Google + or viva email:

Twitter: @MerandaRoben

Google plus: +MerandaRoben

About MerandaRoben

I am a Freelance Photographer... You can contact me by sending me a message on facebook or by email at meranda-roben@live.ca Or call the number on the business card. The best ways to contact me is by calling the number on the business card or sending me a message on facebook. I enjoying doing all kinds of photography but i would have to say street photography is my favourite. I like to photograph events and work in event and family portrait photography, if you would like me to photograph your event or do some family portraits just send me a message or give me a call . I also enjoy writing and i'm going to be working more on my journalism skills. I want to become either a photographic journalist or a documentary photographers. Feel free to check out all my photos and give me feed back. I have been living with Crohn's disease since my diagnosis in April 2012. Through my work I want to be able to bring light to Crohn’s disease and show other’s that it is very possible to live a full happy healthy successful life even with the ups and down’s of this life long disease. I plan to start writing a Monthly blog on my rise to become a professional photographer it will be in titled “Rise to Pro: One Snapshot at a time” That will hopefully begin July 22 2013. By Now most if not all of you are aware that I have a form of IBD. I have one of the two most common forms of IBD, Crohn’s disease. I have recently decided to become an IBD activist in the form of a writing blog and I guess a “in person educator” if you would. I will be discussing everything that goes into my IBD life with this blog and when I say everything I mean EVERYTHING, All the detail of which some would be to embarrassed/scared to discuss in a public form I will write about in hopes that through this I will inspire others With IBD to be more open with them selves and be confident in who they are. It is entitled “My IBD Life.
This entry was posted in documentary, IBD and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where to go from here?

  1. I have (unfortunately) reached that point where I am no longer able to work full-time. But although I am quite a bit older than you, I still hold out hope that one day a cure will be found, the damage can be reversed and I can return to my greatest passion, integrating technology into everyday life in ways that make life better for the everyman. That, and getting back on my bike to ride another century.

    But despite being considered permanently and irrecoverably disabled, I don’t lead a truly sedentary lifestyle. I may not be able to maintain the schedule I once did (even while battling Crohn’s), but I refuse to just sit on my butt feeling sorry for myself. After all, that isn’t living – it’s simply waiting for somebody to hit the “kill” switch. It sounds as if being consigned to that type of life is of great concern. Well, don;t worry about it. Go out, enjoy doing what you can for as long as you can. Take life as it comes. You’ll enjoy it more. 🙂

    Like

    • MerandaRoben says:

      Thank so much Ray for sharing! yes there is always hope for a cure i’m glad you “refuse to just sit on your butt feeling sorry for yourself” your right that wont get you anywhere nor will it make you happy.
      Your a great fighter i truly appreciate your advice, i will try to stop stressing so much and enjoy life as it comes 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

