Get out of your fog by reading some blogs!

The title rhymes this means we are off to a good start!

When I was first diagnosed all I had to referents was the pamphlets my GI  had given me, It took me while to actually look into Blogs/Vlogs and support site.
I felt as tho i was living in a fog, There was no one around me living with IBD. Once i had finally looked on YouTube for some Vlogs and Googling for Blogs I felt relieved there were so many great things!
By reading the blog sand watching the vlogs I got a sense of connection, a the feeling of understanding and empowerment. It gave me something to referents , somewhere to find information. I thought “why the heck didn’t my GI tell me about this wonderful community built within the walls of the inter-webs!?
I actually remember my GI at the time telling me and i quote “do not look on the internet it is only full of horror stories.” Be that as it may ma’am, It is also full of inspirational people and amazing educators. What she should have said was , (be careful while on the internet).
I feel that the moment you are  diagnosed your GI should inform you that there are many blogs out there written by 100’s of IBDers, you should look into them, and you should join some support groups on FB!

That being said, Today i am going to give you my top favorite Vlogs, Blogs and websites:

The first ever IBD Video i watched was by Sara ringer ,  The video was I believe “How to tell someone what Crohn’s Disease or Ulcerative Colitis is”

She makes good quality  well explained and easy to understand videos. She also writes a very popular well written blog :”INFLAMED & UNTAMED

if you haven’t already I strongly suggest you go check here out, its okay I’ll wait…

Back? fantastic. The next thing i am going to tell you about is an amazing website ” Great Bowel Movement” It is a great place to find information and you can even by cool shirts like this one!

cropped-dsc_0143o.jpg
go check them out: Great Bowel Movement and buy a shirt , i’ll wait again.

Did you buy a shirt? I know you did. Next!

Next is “The Crohns Colitis effect” , it is run by an amazing father who’s young son suffers from IBD. He is also the head of the “IBD Round Table” which is where of group of IBD activists get together every month to talk about issues sounding IBD . Go check it out: The Crohns Colitis effect

The next blog i am going to share is “Crohns Diaries”  The Crohns diaries is great, it is a very personal and thought-provoking blog , Christina Matthies has appeared numerous times on the “IBD Round Table” as well.
Go check out: The Crohns Diaries 

Next is not a blog or anything but  ts a book! written by “John Bradley” Called The Foul Bowel it is a “humorous and inspiring user’s guide to living with Crohn’s disease” Go buy Johns Book!: The Foul Bowel , I met him he is a wonderful person!
Untitled

You bought the book!? awesome. Moving right along…
Anther great way to connect with IBDers is through FB support groups, you get to ask any question you want and get answers fast.

Crohn’s & Ulcerative Colitis Support Site

Crohns Disease & Ulcerative Colitis Support UK (Other countries welcome)

Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of Canada (CCFC)

A Dating Site for People with Crohns,Ulcerative Colitis,IBD,Cancer,Ostomies

Beautiful and Strong Teen Girls with IBD

Next I am going to write a  quick list out of some great blogs for you:

Veganostomy.ca

Crohnsknows

Crohnsguy.com

Thecrohnsjourneyfoundation.org

Behind the Times

My IBD Life

Well I could go on and on! There are truly so many amazing bloggers out here ..especially that last one 😉 …i kid i kid.
If you know of any bloggers/vloggers/websites I did not mention Please link them in the comments!

Thanks so much!

And a specal thank you  to Milka S for giving me the idea to write the entry!

 

Twitter: @MerandaRonen

Google plus: +MerandaRoben

 

About MerandaRoben

I am a Freelance Photographer... You can contact me by sending me a message on facebook or by email at meranda-roben@live.ca Or call the number on the business card. The best ways to contact me is by calling the number on the business card or sending me a message on facebook. I enjoying doing all kinds of photography but i would have to say street photography is my favourite. I like to photograph events and work in event and family portrait photography, if you would like me to photograph your event or do some family portraits just send me a message or give me a call . I also enjoy writing and i'm going to be working more on my journalism skills. I want to become either a photographic journalist or a documentary photographers. Feel free to check out all my photos and give me feed back. I have been living with Crohn's disease since my diagnosis in April 2012. Through my work I want to be able to bring light to Crohn’s disease and show other’s that it is very possible to live a full happy healthy successful life even with the ups and down’s of this life long disease. I plan to start writing a Monthly blog on my rise to become a professional photographer it will be in titled “Rise to Pro: One Snapshot at a time” That will hopefully begin July 22 2013. By Now most if not all of you are aware that I have a form of IBD. I have one of the two most common forms of IBD, Crohn’s disease. I have recently decided to become an IBD activist in the form of a writing blog and I guess a “in person educator” if you would. I will be discussing everything that goes into my IBD life with this blog and when I say everything I mean EVERYTHING, All the detail of which some would be to embarrassed/scared to discuss in a public form I will write about in hopes that through this I will inspire others With IBD to be more open with them selves and be confident in who they are. It is entitled “My IBD Life.
This entry was posted in IBD, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Get out of your fog by reading some blogs!

  1. lifespaller says:

    So true. As well meaning as the medically approved pamphlets are, I’ve learned so much from hearing about others’ lived experience. Yes, there is nonsense on the internet, but IBDers seem like a fairly smart bunch to me and can tell the rubbish from the gold.

    Liked by 1 person

    • nobody says:

      Yeah, I’ve gotten way more out of talking to other IBD’ers than from any of the pamphlets in the doctor’s office or medication handouts. For instance, no one ever told me that IBD can cause/worsen arthritis, so when I started getting new joint pain, I started panicking. I thought it just affected my guts, but some other people with IBD were able to tell me that it’s pretty common.

      All the support I’ve found has been online. I wish there were an in-person group near me, but I haven’t found anything. I can’t imagine what it would’ve been like to have IBD before the internet.

      Like

Leave a Reply

