Message from Tommy

DSC_0959
Tommy says if he had a bank account he would donate to the Gutsy Walk!

The Gutsy Walk is a Walk organized by the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation Canada
The Walk is held every year all over Canada to raise Awareness and money for these awful & misunderstood disease’s.

For the second year in a raw Myself and my support group  have signed up our team for the Walk! And we need help in reaching our goal of 1000$ by June 7th!

Donate to Flushing IBD Away team page by clicking here.

Donate to Flushing IBD Away team page by clicking here.

Donate to Flushing IBD Away

Every dollar you donate will count towards the CCC’s ” Make it stop. For life.” campaign!


If you are confused and/or do not know much if anything at all about IBD then continue reading these few paragraphs where i will elaborate on IBD.

IBD stands for Inflammatory Bowel Disease which is a grouping of two Disease’s , Crohns Disease and Ulcerative Colitis.

A lot of very very mislead and misinformed people have the ridiculous belief that IBD is the same thing as IBS which is so far from the truth for soooo many reasons:

IBD = Inflammatory Bowel Disease (Crohns Disease & Ulcerative Colitis)

IBSIrritable Bowel Syndrome

Check out my entry called Difference between IBD and IBS  

Watch this wonderful video created but Dr.Mike Evans explaining what IBD really is:

The general public also has the misconception that all people with IBD do is go the bathroom a lot. This is also WRONG! Even tho Bathroom issues are a very really factor for everyone with CD or UC ,IBD effects pretty much every part of the body ,it is impossible for someone without IBD to ever full understand the impacted IBD has on one’s life.

For example, did you know that 25% of people with IBD (Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis) will develop arthritis?
for more info on that take a look at my entry: Dr.Phil Has segments on IBD & now Rheumatoid Arthritis!

It is hard for people to understand that IBDers are suffering because IBD tends to be an invisible illness , watch this video by the amazing Sara Ringer ( @Sara_Ringer )


FAST FACTS directly taken from the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation Canada:

>1 in every 150 Canadians has IBD (0.7% of the population).

>An estimated 5,900 Canadian children have IBD.

>IBD is more than twice as common as multiple sclerosis or Parkinson’s disease; about as common as Type I diabetes or epilepsy.

>There is no cure for IBD – patients require regular medications to manage their IBD, even during periods of remission, with additional medications needed during flare-ups; when this fails, surgery is often required.

>IBD is a lifelong, chronic disease, usually starting in early adulthood in otherwise healthy, active individuals.

>People with Crohn’s disease are 47% more likely to die prematurely than people without IBD.

>People with IBD have an increased risk of colorectal cancer.

>IBD causes significant non-financial costs to both patients and their families. Quality of life in IBD is low across all dimensions of health, compared to the general population.

>IBD severely impacts quality of life through ongoing debilitating symptoms, reduction in ability to work, social stigma, management of bathroom access issues, difficulty with physical intimacy, loss of leisure time, and limited choices of career, travel and other personal options.
Check out this link for those and more FAST FACTS:
FAST FACTS: The Impact of IBD in Canada 2012


Now that you have a better understanding of what IBD is I hope you consider donating to the Gutsy Walk!
Remember every $ counts in the fight to find a cure! If all you can afford to donate is 10$ then that is fine and if you can not afford to donate anything at all then we understand All we ask is that you to pass this message on by share this entry and/or sharing the link to our Team page!

Donate to Flushing IBD Away team page by clicking here.

Thanks so much!!


Follow me on twitter: @MerandaRoben

Follow me on Google plus: +MerandaRoben

Follow me on Instagram: merandaroben

About MerandaRoben

I am a Freelance Photographer... You can contact me by sending me a message on facebook or by email at meranda-roben@live.ca Or call the number on the business card. The best ways to contact me is by calling the number on the business card or sending me a message on facebook. I enjoying doing all kinds of photography but i would have to say street photography is my favourite. I like to photograph events and work in event and family portrait photography, if you would like me to photograph your event or do some family portraits just send me a message or give me a call . I also enjoy writing and i'm going to be working more on my journalism skills. I want to become either a photographic journalist or a documentary photographers. Feel free to check out all my photos and give me feed back. I have been living with Crohn's disease since my diagnosis in April 2012. Through my work I want to be able to bring light to Crohn’s disease and show other’s that it is very possible to live a full happy healthy successful life even with the ups and down’s of this life long disease. I plan to start writing a Monthly blog on my rise to become a professional photographer it will be in titled “Rise to Pro: One Snapshot at a time” That will hopefully begin July 22 2013. By Now most if not all of you are aware that I have a form of IBD. I have one of the two most common forms of IBD, Crohn’s disease. I have recently decided to become an IBD activist in the form of a writing blog and I guess a “in person educator” if you would. I will be discussing everything that goes into my IBD life with this blog and when I say everything I mean EVERYTHING, All the detail of which some would be to embarrassed/scared to discuss in a public form I will write about in hopes that through this I will inspire others With IBD to be more open with them selves and be confident in who they are. It is entitled “My IBD Life.
This entry was posted in IBD, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

